Leah's Blog

A little introduction….

Logo adapted from Uni Aberdeen website and Facebook page

Ok, so I’ve been a little quiet on the blogging front since I arrived in Aberdeen, and for anyone who knows me, this is bound to be a shock. Unfortunately, this is not the shape of things to come, I have simply been trying to find some time to gather my notes, and my thoughts, and try to figure out the best way to share some of the fascinating information and concepts I have come across so far.
So the plan is this; I will give a short overview of each day, a couple of days at a time, and then write some more in-depth pieces, including links and sources of further information. This way I hope to minimise how much I spam everyone, but also provide a reasonable level of detail to those who want to learn more, and critically, to show you where to go for expert guidance on the matter, rather than having to take my word for it.
I will try to keep things as clear as I can as I believe that anyone is able to understand many of the concepts of modern scientific research without having to resort to oversimplification or ‘dumbing down’, provided that we accept that things won’t always be straightforward. After all, if it were scientists would have answered all the questions already and gone on to better paid careers instead…
Please feel free to get in touch by email, facebook, twitter or whathaveyou with any feedback, questions or advice.
L x

“In all science, error precedes the truth, and it is better it should go first than last.”
– Hugh Walpole

“No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong.”
– Albert Einstein

Image credit – University of Aberdeen on Facebook (adapted)

https://www.facebook.com/BritishScienceFestival

Leave a Reply

